By Abby Hutmacher

State by State Cultivation Laws: AK, CO, DC & OR
Growing

America is the land of the free, but some states are just a little bit freer than others. Specifically, there are 4 states that have not only legalized the use of marijuana, but have legalized personal cannabis cultivation, as well.

Each state has its own laws regarding personal cannabis cultivation so pay attention if you want your marijuana grow to be as compliant as possible. Here are the rules, by state, for Alaska, Colorado, Washington DC and Oregon:

Alaska

Earlier this year, Alaska put into effect Measure 2 which legalizes the personal use and cultivation of cannabis for anyone over 21 years old. According to the measure, adults are allowed to cultivate up to 6 plants per person with no more than half flowering at a time. Other restrictions on cannabis cultivation in Alaska include:

  • The full amount of harvest can be kept by the individual who produced it regardless of weight.

  • Only 1 oz of harvested cannabis can be transported at a time; the rest must remain in the same location as the harvest.

  • It is illegal to sell marijuana without a license. It is, however, legal to share up to 1 oz with adults over the age of 21.

  • Groups or collectives are not allowed to cultivate large amounts of cannabis.

  • Landlords may restrict cultivation on their property as long as it is written in the lease.

  • Cultivation on federal land or military reserves remains illegal.

Colorado

Colorado’s Amendment 64 allows for the personal use and cultivation of cannabis for anyone over the age of 21. Personal cultivation is limited to 6 plants per person (12 per household) with no more than half flowering at a time. Other laws regarding cannabis cultivation in Colorado include:

  • All marijuana plants must be kept locked in fully-enclosed locations away from kids (and pets) and out of public view.

  • Marijuana cannot be grown within 1,000 feet of a school.

  • A full harvest may be kept regardless of final weight.

  • It is illegal to sell marijuana without a state-issued license, though gifts without remuneration are acceptable.

  • No one under the age of 21 should have access to the plants or any part of the harvest.

District of Columbia

Washington DC allows personal cannabis cultivation as long as it meets certain guidelines. For example, only adults over the age of 21 are allowed to cultivate cannabis and they must adhere to a plant limit of 6 per person or 12 per household.

  • Cannabis must be cultivated in one’s primary residence only.

  • It is illegal to grow marijuana in any government-funded building.

  • Landlords reserve the right to restrict cannabis cultivation on their property.

  • It is illegal to sell any amount of harvest, though gifts with no remuneration are acceptable.

  • It is illegal to own more than two ounces or transfer more than one ounce.

Oregon

Oregon adults can grow up to 4 cannabis plants per household regardless of how many adults live on the premises. Other rules regarding cannabis cultivation in Oregon include:

  • Personal growers will not be required to register as long as they maintain a 4 plant minimum.

  • Home cultivation is not subject to fees

  • All parts of the cannabis plant must be secure and away from minors at all times

  • Cannabis odor must be controlled so that it is not noticeable in public

  • It is illegal to sell cannabis without a license though gifts are acceptable without remuneration.


Though half of U.S. states and territories have some degree of marijuana regulation, less than a handful allow personal cultivation of cannabis. Though regulations are similar between these states, a few differences are important to note!

Would you grow your own marijuana? Why or why not? Tell us below.

Photo Credit: A7nubis (license)



Top 10 Ways to Save on Marijuana in Colorado
* We will never sell or spam your email address.
comments powered by Disqus

Search

advertisement